Interview Prep One Month Left

First of all I would like to thank the authors for their continued support of their book. As a lurker who has been watching from the side, the community interaction in the last 2 years has just been above and beyond.

I have the 1.3 version but I went ahead purchased the latest version. I was going to get the one from PlayStore but I saw it $20 on Amazon so I went that route instead ;).

I have an upcoming Amazon on-site interview with about a month left with the AFT team (Lamps). Position is for an SDE2 at Austin but the interview is at Seattle. My background is 3 yrs of development in building Navigation products.

From my initial research, in addition to ds/algos here are the topics I need to cover:

1. Amazon Leadership principles. I’m preparing 1-2 stories for each principle.
  2. Systems Design - not really sure how to go about this one to be honest. I have do have some experience at work regarding designing for availability, nodes self healing etc, listening for heartbeats but not at the scale of Amazon, FB or Google.

My schedule (that I hope to keep) is basically 2-3 problems a day, with a systems design question here and there. Lately I would start my study time with a problem I already did a week ago and then work on a new problem and push through it for an hour (really painful sometimes!). When I don’t finish it, I just try to give myself another day to go through it.

This will be my first on-site technical interview of this type.

Any specific tips on the SDE2 position or preparation in general would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

0 Likes

Hey Herbert,

Thanks for your kind words as we authors like to share our knowledge and passion to people who are interested in this. Of course, thanks so much for your lasting support since 1.3, and we did put constant efforts on this literally every day to make this book better and better even we know it is the best already.